2020 GFC Women’s Club Champion Awards Night

The 2020 GFC Women’s Club Champion Awards Night was certainly an event to remember.

The Club presented three awards, including the inaugural 2020 Trademark Player of the Year Award and the newly named Cass Hartley Best Team Player Award.

The 2020 Trademark award, presented to Lucy Armitage, was nominated by team players and represents a player’s commitment, fearless approach to the footy, team-first approach, positive attitude, self accountability and more.

Lucy Armitage and Jason Fairall, Women’s Senior Coach Jason Fairall

The Best Team Player Award, now named after Cass Hartley in honour of her contribution to the Club, was awarded to Deputy Vice-Captain Ellie Kellock for her brilliant work ethic, on-field determination and undeniable passion for the team.

Ellie Kellock and Cass Hartley

Finally, with a whopping 84 votes, youngster Madi Freeman was presented the 2020 GFCW Club Champion Award. Madi was instrumental in the Tigers wins across the season, and overall 2020 campaign, being named as one of the best players in several matches.

Catherine Sayer (Women’s Football Director) and Madi Freeman

Madi Freeman 84
Sam Franson 65
Tessa Kohn 63
Lucy Armitage 54
Ellie Kellock 47
Eloise Jones 39
Caitlin Gould 36
Deni Varnhagen 32
Jessica Bates 30
Lauren Fisher 28

The Glenelg Football Club congratulates all award winners and is extremely proud of the individual and collective achievements of the team.

We thank everyone involved in the Women’s 2020 season, and look forward to an even bigger season in 2021.