Club News

2022 West End SA Football Hall of Fame Inductees


Four South Australian football greats have been inducted into the West End SA Football Hall of Fame at the Adelaide Oval on Monday night.

Port Adelaide premiership midfielder Kane Cornes, Fremantle great Matthew Pavlich, Norwood Hall of Fame member Bruce Schultz and AFL Grand Final boundary umpire Darren Wilson are the latest names to now reside among the Croweaters’ illustrious honour roll.

Established in 2002 to enshrine those who have made a “most significant contribution to the game of Australian Football,” the West End SA Football Hall of Fame now includes 218 players, coaches, umpires, administrators and media representatives.

The West End SA Football Hall of Fame is divided into five eras – 1877-1900, 1901-1930, 1931-1960, 1961-1990 and 1991-present day.

The 2022 inductees were selected by the previous South Australian Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee, which included Philip Gallagher (Chairman), John Lyons, Leigh Whicker AM, John Halbert AM MBE, Brian Cunningham, Tim Pfeiffer, Chris McDermott, David Shipway AM, Michelangelo Rucci, Bill Sanders AM and Andrew Capel.

The current Committee comprises Tom Zorich (Chairman), John Lyons, Leigh Whicker AM, John Halbert AM MBE, Brian Cunningham, Tim Pfeiffer, Chris McDermott, David Shipway AM, Michelangelo Rucci and Andrew Capel.

Kane Cornes

36 games and 18 goals for Glenelg 2000-11
300 games and 93 goals for Port Adelaide (AFL) 2001-15
28 pre-season games

Port Adelaide (AFL) 2004
Pre-season premierships – Port (AFL) 2001, 2002

1 for State of Origin Dream Team 2008

Best first-year player Port 2001
Most improved award Port 2004
All-Australian 2005, 2007
Four-time John Cahill Medallist (Port best and fairest) 2007, 2008, 2010, 2012
AFL 200 Club
AFL life member 2015
Games record holder for Port (AFL) at time of retirement in 2015

Assistant/development coach of Glenelg 2016
Assistant coach of the SANFL State League Team 2016

Matthew Pavlich

21 games and 38 goals for Woodville-West Torrens 1999
1 game for South Fremantle 2000
353 games and 700 goals for Fremantle 2000-16
Fremantle captain 2007-15

4 for Australia in International Rules
1 for South Australia 1999

Six-time Fremantle best and fairest (2002, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2011)
Eight-time Fremantle leading goalkicker (2001, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2012)
Coleman Medal 2012
All-Australian 2002, 2003, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008
AFL life member since 2013
Fremantle life member since 2006
AFL Rising Star nominee 2000
Australian Football Hall of Fame 2022

Bruce Schultz - 1913-1980

124 games and 669 goals for Norwood 1933-41
Norwood captain 1940

6 for South Australia

SANFL leading goalkicker 1941
Norwood leading goalkicker 1934, 1935, 1939, 1940, 1941
Norwood player life member
Inducted into Norwood Hall of Fame 2006
Member of Norwood Team of the Century 2001

Darren Wilson

404 AFL games as a boundary umpire from 1992-2006 (record at time of retirement)
85 SANFL games as a boundary umpire from 1991-2016

Umpired 48 AFL finals (14 more than closest rival in VFL-AFL history)
Umpired 12 consecutive AFL grand finals (1998-2009)
Youngest ever AFL umpire (17 years, 237 days)
Umpired 1992, 1993, 1997 SANFL grand finals
All-Australian boundary umpire 2007 (award only introduced in 2005)
AFL life member (only boundary umpire)
Inaugural AFLW boundary umpires coach 2017-18
AFL national boundary umpire coach 2019-current