Club News

2023 West End State Squad Released


A 32-player West End State squad, littered with stars from inform Hostplus SANFL League clubs Sturt, North Adelaide and Glenelg, has been released ahead of the Kia State Game on May 19.

The undefeated Double Blues, highly-talented Roosters and fast-starting Tigers each have seven players chosen in the lead up to the battle for the Haydn Bunton Junior Cup at Adelaide Oval from 3.10pm.

Seeking their fourth win in succession against the Sandgropers, the Croweaters begin training on Tuesday night at Thebarton Oval under incoming West End State coach Jade Rawlings.

With new Chairman of Selectors Tim Ginever replacing his fellow FIVEaa co-host Stephen Rowe, the final squad will be trimmed next Monday after Round 6 of the Hostplus SANFL League.

Ginever, a seven-time Port Adelaide premiership player, is a passionate South Australian and advocate for the SANFL given his role as Channel 7 commentator provides him with the opportunity to immerse himself in the competition.

”It really is a great honour,” Ginever said.

”I’ve still got all of my (State) guernseys, tracksuits, you name it, because it meant so much and it takes so much to be selected in those (State) teams.

”And then you want to honour it, so it means a lot to me to be back involved.”

Glenelg’s Matt Allen is coming off a stunning performance which earned him the John Schneebichler Medal in Round 5. Picture – David Mariuz

''It means a lot to me to be back involved.''

West End State Team Chairman of Selectors Tim Ginever

Posting their first 5-0 start to the season since 1978, Sturt has prolific midfielders Patrick Wilson and Tom Lewis in the squad, together with former Port Adelaide speedster Marty Frederick.

Double Blues defenders Will Coomblas and Connor McFadyen also feature, together with 150-game goalsneak Josh Hone and last year’s Fos Williams Medallist, Casey Voss.

Bob Quinn Medallist Noah Casalini headlines the Roosters’ inclusions, with key members of last year’s victorious outfit, Harrison Wigg and Keenan Ramsey, strong chances to return.

Together with Frederick, North’s Frank Szekely looms as an ideal choice to start on a wing given his hard-running style while teammates Harrison Magor, Cameron Craig and Mitch Harvey have also been rewarded for their early form.

Last year’s West End State captain, Liam McBean, is among the Glenelg players selected, together with leading goal kicker Lachie Hosie, inform utility Matt Allen and Tigers captain Max Proud.

Bays midfielder Brett Turner, small defender Darcy Bailey and ruckman Cam McGree all have an opportunity to make their State debut.

All eight non-AFL aligned SANFL clubs are represented, with the Redlegs (Harry Boyd) and Bloods (Josh Ryan) having one selection each.

Rawlings, who assumes the coaching mantle from Jade Sheedy, will have fellow Hostplus SANFL League mentors Jacob Surjan (North) and Darren Reeves (Glenelg) by his side while Central District coach Paul Thomas will don the fluros as the team’s runner.

Bulldogs premiership champions James and Chris Gowans, together with Rick Macgowan will also be members of the coaching panel, as well as Adelaide’s SANFL captain Matthew Wright and North Adelaide premiership defender Mitch Clisby.

2023 West End State Squad

Player SANFL Club
Jez McLennan Central
Billy Iles Central
Matt Allen Glenelg
Brett Turner Glenelg
Liam McBean Glenelg
Lachie Hosie Glenelg
Darcy Bailey Glenelg
Cam McGree Glenelg
Max Proud Glenelg
Noah Casalini North
Cameron Craig North
Harrison Wigg North
Harrison Magor North
Keenan Ramsey North
Mitch Harvey North
Frank Szekely North
Harry Boyd Norwood
Mitch O'Neill South
Sam Skinner South
Eamon Wilkinson South
Will Coomblas Sturt
Marty Frederick Sturt
Tom Lewis Sturt
Casey Voss Sturt
Patrick Wilson Sturt
Josh Hone Sturt
Connor McFadyen Sturt
Josh Ryan West
Mitch Hardie Woodville-West Torrens
Connor Ballenden Woodville-West Torrens
James Rowe Woodville-West Torrens
Joseph Sinor Woodville-West Torrens