Club News

Glenelg’s Lachie Hosie wins 2023 Ken Farmer Medal


Entertaining Glenelg forward Lachie Hosie has claimed the 2023 Ken Farmer Medal as the Hostplus SANFL League’s leading goal-kicker at the end of the minor round.

Hosie, who boasted an 11-goal advantage before Round 18, cruised to the finish line with a total of 52 majors after kicking two against South Adelaide on Saturday at Stratarama Stadium.

The 26-year-old joins teammate Liam McBean as one of four Tigers to be awarded the prestigious medal, together with Clint Alleway (2015) and Todd Grima (2010).

Runner-up in the Ken Farmer Medal race last season, Hosie kicked a goal in each of his 18 outings this year, with a season-best haul of six coming against Port Adelaide in Round 2.

McBean, who kicked four in Round 18, finished runner-up with 43 goals, ahead of Sturt’s Josh Hone on 41 while Tiger Luke Reynolds and Crow Lachlan Gollant kicked 37 majors each.

Introduced in 1981, the Ken Farmer Medal is named in honour of North Adelaide’s legendary goal kicking champion Ken Farmer.

Farmer played 13 seasons with North from 1929 – 1941 and kicked 1417 League goals, a record that still stands today.

In 11 consecutive seasons, Farmer broke the 100 goal milestone and was the league leading goalkicker in each.

2023 Ken Farmer Medal Leaderboard

Player Club Goals
Lachie Hosie Glenelg 52
Liam McBean Glenelg 43
Josh Hone Sturt 41
Luke Reynolds Glenelg 37
Lachlan Gollant Adelaide 37