Club News

Hugh Stagg wins 2021 McCallum Tomkins Medal


Glenelg captain Hugh Stagg has blitzed the field in winning the 2021 U18 McCallum Tomkins Medal.

Polling a huge haul of 28 votes, the strongly-built Tigers utility finished well clear of runner-up Hugh Jackson (North) on 19 and third-placed Dustin Launer (Eagles) on 17.

Originally from PHOS Camden FC, the 18-year-old attracted the attention of the umpires in 10 of his 14 matches this season, which included eight best-on-ground performances.

Averaging 24 disposals and kicking 24 goals for the season, Stagg – who also played four Reserves matches this year – finished the season like a steam train to poll three votes in Round 13, 15, 16, and 17.

Measuring in at 180cm and 79kg, Stagg is the first Glenelg player to win the McCallum Tomkins Medal since it became a combined award in 2009 for the start of the U18 competition.

Prior to 2009, the McCallum Medal was awarded to the best-and-fairest U17 player and the Tomkins Medal was awarded to the best-and-fairest U19 player.

2021 McCallum Tomkins Medal Leaderboard

Player Club Votes
Hugh Stagg Glenelg 28
Hugh Jackson North Adelaide 19
Dustin Launer Eagles 17
Cade Kennedy West 16
Charlie Pridham West 14
Kobe Ryan West 13
Darcy Gluyas Glenelg 12
Harvey Harrison North 12
Mattaes Phillipou Eagles 12