Club News

Nick Chigwidden inducted into West End SA Football of Fame


Four South Australian football greats have been inducted into the West End SA Football Hall of Fame at the Adelaide Oval on Monday night.

Sturt and Central District Life Member Daryl Hicks, Great of Glenelg Nick Chigwidden, Bulldogs trailblazer Sonny Morey and inaugural South Adelaide chairman Charles Kingston are the latest names to now reside among the Croweaters’ illustrious honour roll.

Established in 2002 to enshrine those who have made a “most significant contribution to the game of Australian Football,” the West End SA Football Hall of Fame now includes 222 players, coaches, umpires, administrators and media representatives.

The West End SA Football Hall of Fame is divided into five eras – 1877-1900, 1901-1930, 1931-1960, 1961-1990 and 1991-present day.

The 2023 Committee comprises Philip Gallagher (Chairman), John Lyons, John Halbert AM MBE, Brian Cunningham, Tim Pfeiffer, Chris McDermott, David Shipway AM, Michelangelo Rucci and Andrew Capel.


  • 293 games and 257 goals for Glenelg FC 1987-2000


  • 2 matches for South Australia


  • Glenelg FC Best and Fairest – 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994
  • Glenelg FC Captain – 1993-2000
  • Magarey Medal runner-up – 1993, 1999
  • Glenelg FC Hall of Fame Inductee
  • Glenelg FC Great of Glenelg
  • SANFL Player Life Membership – 1996


  • Glenelg FC President – 2012-2019