Club News

Triple Treat for Liam McBean


Glenelg’s Liam McBean is the first player in more than a decade to win three consecutive Ken Farmer Medals after topping the Statewide Super League goal kicking list in 2021.

After winning the award in 2019 and sharing it with Eagle James Rowe last year, the Tigers’ premiership forward became the first spearhead since Sturt’s Brant Chambers (2007-09) to win three in a row.

Booting a career-high 51 goals for the season, the 27-year-old kicked five goals or more on four occasions including a season-high haul of seven against Central District in Round 17.

McBean’s prolific ability to hit the scoreboard was also highlighted by him not registering a goal in just two of his 18 games this season.

The former Richmond bigman joins fellow SANFL greats in Chambers, South and the Eagles’ Michael Wundke, West’s Adam Richardson and Port Adelaide pair Scott Hodges and Tim Evans in winning at least three Ken Farmer Medals.

North Adelaide’s Lewis Hender was next best placed with 36 goals while Eagle Tyson Stengle was third with 35 majors. McBean’s Tiger teammate Luke Reynolds was equal fifth with 33 goals.

Introduced in 1981, the Ken Farmer Medal is named in honour of North Adelaide’s legendary goal kicking champion Ken Karmer.

Famer played 13 seasons with North from 1929 – 1941 and kicked 1417 League goals, a record that still stands today.

In 11 consecutive seasons, Farmer broke the 100 goal milestone and was the league leading goalkicker in each.

2021 Ken Farmer Medal Leaderboard

Player Club Goals
Liam McBean Glenelg 51
Lewis Hender North 36
Tyson Stengle Eagles 35
Daniel Menzel Eagles 34
Aiden Grace Central 33
Luke Reynolds Glenelg 33
Dylan Williams Port 31
Tom Keough West 30