Team Selections

West End State Team named for KIA State Game

Sponsored by KIA State Game


Nine players will make their debut for the West End State Team against the WAFL in Sunday’s KIA State Game in Perth.

The Croweaters have named ruck Amos Doyle, forwards Aiden Grace and Connor McFadyen and defensive trio Luke Beecken, Brinn Little and Tom Donnelly to make a start against the Sandgropers at Optus Stadium.

Uncapped Croweaters Billy Cootee, Riley Holder and Matt Ling will come off the interchange bench as SANFL looks to win its fifth clash in succession against the WAFL in retaining the Haydn Bunton Junior Cup.

West End State team coach Jade Rawlings put his team through its paces on Thursday night at West Lakes before the team flies out on Saturday for the contest at 2.15pm SA time, which will be the curtain-raiser to the West Coast v Melbourne AFL match.

SA’s revamped forward line will feature North premiership veteran Mitch Harvey and Sturt’s McFadyen in the key posts while Grace will assume the role as a mobile third tall target inside attacking 50m.

Norwood premiership defender Donnelly and Bulldog Brinn Little have been named in the key back positions while Beecken will be encouraged to provide his trademark dash off half-back.

West End State captain Joey Sinor will start in the centre square, alongside Fos Williams Medallist James Rowe and inform Redleg Mitch O’Neill as they work with Double Blues ruckman Doyle to gain an advantage at the stoppages.

Glenelg’s Matt Allen (leg) was deemed unfit while Frank Szekely and Kobe Ryan were trimmed from the 26-man squad named on Monday.

Other players unavailable for selection include Glenelg’s Liam McBean (hamstring) and Lachie Hosie (broken hand), Eagle Riley Knight (calf), Bulldogs midfielder Harry Grant (knee), West defender Josh Ryan (hamstring), as well as Norwood ruckman Harry Boyd and Sturt rover Will Snelling.

The KIA State Game will be screened live and free via SANFL Now and AFL Live Official App and

West End State midfielder Frank Szekely (left) and runner Paul Thomas share a laugh at training. Picture – Ash Rayson

KIA State Game Team Selections

KIA State Game – 2.15pm (SA time)
Sunday May 19 at Optus Stadium, Perth


F: (12) Baynen Lowe, (28) Mitch Harvey, (13) Aiden Grace

HF: (2) Eamon Wilkinson, (20) Connor McFadyen, (17) Luke Reynolds

C: (11) Harrison Wigg, (10) Joseph Sinor, (6) Casey Voss

HB: (21) Chris Curran, (25) Tom Donnelly, (15) Luke Beecken

B: (19) Will Coomblas, (26) Brinn Little, (18) Jez McLennan


R: (30) Amos Doyle, (14) Mitch O’Neill, (16) James Rowe

INT: (4) Billy Cootee, (8) Corey Lyons, (27) Riley Holder, (7) Matt Ling, (5) Campbell Combe

NEW: Aiden Grace (Central), Connor McFadyen (Sturt), Tom Donnelly (Norwood), Luke Beecken (Eagles), Brinn Little (Central), Amos Doyle (Sturt), Billy Cootee (Norwood), Riley Holder (Glenelg), Matt Ling (Norwood)



F: (27) Oliver Eastland, (20) Trey Ruscoe, (12) Jed Hagan

HF: (18) Ben Sokol, (29) Tyler Keitel, (4) Matthew Parker

C: (23) Jesse Turner, (5) Angus Schumacher, (15) Greg Clark

HB: (11) Fraser Turner, (10) Zac Guadagnin, (7) Cameron Eardley

B: (30) Jacob Blight, (1) Matthew Jupp, (8) Michael Sellwood


R: (28) Brynn Teakle, (2) Milan Murdock, (6) Nik Rokahr

INT: (13) Bailey Rogers, (9) Angus Scott, (3) Stan Wright, (22) Jye Chalcraft, (26) Chad Pearson