Window wins 2023 SANFLW Powerade Breakthrough Player


Explosive Glenelg midfielder Piper Window has won the 2023 SANFLW Powerade Breakthrough Player award after an exceptional individual campaign.

The Tigers’ 2021 premiership player relished spending more time in the midfield this season, averaging an impressive 20 disposals, six clearances and four inside 50s in her 11 Hostplus SANFLW League outings.

Nominated for her stunning performance in Round 1, the 17-year-old set the tone for her relentless pressure by applying 17 tackles against West Adelaide, en route to averaging an impressive eight per game in 2023.

Captain of the South Australian Girls U18 team, Window is the first Glenelg player to win the Powerade Breakthrough Player since the award’s inception when the SANFLW competition began in 2017.

Window, the granddaughter of 1965 Magarey Medallist Gary Window, was one of two Tigers nominated this season with teammate Madisyn Freeman earning acknowledgement in Round 5.

Glenelg’s No.8 was awarded with a $1,000 cash prize and trophy, courtesy of Powerade.

Central District led the way for nominations in 2023, with four Bulldogs – Caitlin Wendland, Laitiah Huynh, Elaine Grigg and Charlotte Riggs – featuring on the list of contenders.

To be eligible for the SANFLW Powerade Breakthrough Player Award, players must be aged 21 and under at the start of the year.

Window was selected by a panel of judges which included SANFL General Manager Football Matt Duldig, SANFL Female Talent Manager Robbie Neill, SANFL Football Operations Coordinator Daniel Joyce, SANFL Head of Football Operations Sean Toohey, SANFL Football Operations Administrator Lucy Herde and SANFL Media Producer Zac Milbank.

2023 SANFLW Powerade Breakthrough Player Nominees

Round 1 – Piper Window (Glenelg)
Round 2 – Monique Bessen (Sturt)
Round 3 – Caitlin Wendland (Central)
Round 4 – Laitiah Huynh (Central)
Round 5 – Madisyn Freeman (Glenelg)
Round 6 – India Rasheed (Sturt)
Round 7 – Elaine Grigg (Central)
Round 8 – Charlotte Riggs (Central)
Round 9 – Asha Dufour (West)
Round 10 – Marlie Fiegert (Eagles)
Round 11 – Brooke Boileau (South)
Round 12 – Molly Brooksby (Norwood)